Golf has been a very popular form of recreation in Goodland for many years, though we didn’t always have the beautiful golf course we boast today. In 1920, Leo Schisler, who had moved to Goodland from Iowa, decided that there was a need for a golf course. At first there was little interest, but the idea caught on quickly. By March 15 of 1920, there were sixteen members, and Leo had started the process of laying out grounds for the course. It was to be located on our fairgrounds.
Before too long the town’s interest in golf had increased greatly. On November 17, 1921 the golf club bought land for a links course. It was located three miles west of Goodlamd. Leo and his two brothers Harry and John did the building and construction of the nine hole golf course. On December 12, 1921, the new golf course–Goodland Golf Club–opened for play. As popularity of the sport grew, the course was redesigned and expanded to eighteen holes with sand greens in the Spring of 1932. In 1968, the golf club changed its name to Sugar Hills Golf Club with plans to build grass greens.
Since our golf course’s humble beginnings, not only have the grounds changed and improved, but many successful tournaments have been started. The sport continues to thrive in Goodland. For a round of golf, look them up and stay on for lunch at their restaurant (the prime rib is particularly good).